21 FSW Student-Athletes Earn NJCAA All-Academic Honors

21 FSW Student-Athletes Earn NJCAA All-Academic Honors

CHARLOTTE, N.C.- After posting the highest winning percentage in the Suncoast Conference on the court and in the field for the second straight season this year, the Florida SouthWestern State Buccaneers showed their true STUDENT-Athlete prowess on Wednesday as a conference high 21 Bucs earned NJCAA All-Academic Team honors. 

The Bucs Softball team led the way with 10 All-Academic Team members while the FSW Volleyball team followed with six, the Bucs Women's Basketball team had three selected, and the Bucs Baseball team had a pair. 

FSW had three First Team All-Academic selections, all coming from the Bucs Softball Team.  Owen Bowers, Alyssa LoSauro, and Alyssa O'Donnell all posted perfect 4.00 GPAs during the 2019-2020 academic year to earn the ultimate academic award from the NJCAA this season. 

Seven FSW student-athletes earned Second Team All-Academic honors.  Three Softball players, Charlotte Drijvers, Shanika Klett, and Savanna Reiners, three Volleyball players, Marina Alonso, Giovanna Bello, and Viktoria Ivanova, and Bucs righthander Robert Wegielnik registered GPAs between 3.80-3.99 this year to earn the honors.

Earning Third Team All-Academic accolades were 11 Bucs student-athletes across four different sports. Natavia Ellis, Alex Hare, Lexi Moore, and Emily Perrin all represented the FSW Softball team on the Third Team while Amy Barley, Anna Leweling, and Amanda Medes were Bucs Volleyball players on the Third Team.  The FSW Women's Basketball team had three Third Team members including Zairea Hannah, Geovana Rios, and Kyriaki Taylor and rounding out the Bucs on the Third Team was Ty Burton from the Bucs Baseball team.  To make it onto the All-Academic Third Team, student-athletes had to earn a 3.60-3.79 GPA for the academic year.

The Bucs 21 recipients were most in the Suncoast Conference and was tied for the best among schools with five or less sports.  The number ranked eighth overall in the state of Florida. 



Daytona State- 66

Eastern Florida- 47

Broward- 32

Tallahassee- 25

Florida State College-Jacksonville- 25

Indian River- 25

Lake Sumter- 25

Florida SouthWestern- 21

Northwest Florida State- 21

Pasco Hernando- 19

Miami Dade- 18

Chipola- 17

Santa Fe- 17

Seminole State- 16

Polk State- 16

Hillsborough- 15

Palm Beach- 14

Gulf Coast- 14

Central Florida- 13

South Florida State- 13

St. John's River- 6


For a complete list of all of the 2019-2020 NJCAA All-Academic Team members CLICK HERE